XXXI – Job Hunt

img_0693

Noosa, 6 September 2016

Today I did something that I hadn’t done in more than 6 years. I grabbed my $20 bike (helmet included) and rode out looking for a job.

I went knocking on every local café to offer my services as barista/waiter. I had forgotten how hard it is to answer that first question “G’day, what can I get you?” Not the actual words, but rather that butterfly feeling in the stomach when we’re asking for something that is not on the menu. That anticipation and bracing for rejection. “Hi, I’m looking for a job and was wondering if I could have a word with the owner or manager?”

It’s amazing how one’s mindset changes if one puts its mind to it. I deliberately decided to put all that anxiousness away before stepping into the first shop. I made the deliberate choice to own my nerves ‘What’s the worst that can happen? I’ve heard ‘No’ before and am still here’. I decided I was just going in for a amiable conversation.

I delivered 6 résumés, had 1 definite “No”, 4 “Maybe in a few weeks” and 1 “I’ll give you a call later on”. Not 10 minutes had passed since I got home when I got a call asking if I could come down for a trial. I was asked to make a cappuccino, a latte and a flat white. Pffffff… easy!! Not really actually. Again, the bloody nerves when I got behind that coffee machine almost ruined it, but after a deep “What’s-wrong-with-you?-You’ve-done-a-few-of-these-before” breath, I nailed it.

About an hour later, at the beach with the family, I received another call from the same place. “Hi mate, are you able to come down for a trial as a waiter, later in the arvo? Say, about 5?” “Sure. See you then.”

I realised I didn’t have the mandatory black clothing, so I did something I hadn’t done in a very long time… I went shopping!! There are few options to get new and cheap clothing but I decided I was going to reuse and not consume so I drove to the Salvation Army store and got 1 pair of black trousers and 2 black shirts. I paid $18.50 for the lot. They didn’t have any black shoes, so I went to one of those afore mentioned shops, where every tag says ‘made in China’ and bought a pair of black sneakers for $15.

Now I’m in my living room, reliving my morning in writing whilst the girls sleep. It’s almost 5 o’clock, so I better get my funeral garment on.

P.S. 1: The trial ended up being the full night’s work. The feedback on my performance was very good, so I’m to come back tomorrow morning to do the morning shift and have already a roster for next week. Made an impression, apparently.

 

Noosa, 10 September 2016

P.S. 2: I feel much desired. I am about to go to another café for a trial and yet another has rung me to come over for a chat and trial for a barista position.

Curious fact, all 3 places are within 150m of each other and my place is 600m from there. The job search and commuting is coming out far better than I ever expected. Time to get into those trials to have a 3 sided fight for my services.

Self-confidence is obviously high.

img_0549

2 thoughts on “XXXI – Job Hunt

Leave a Reply

