XLI -A New Routine

“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten” Tony Robbins

“If you think adventure is dangerous, try routine, it is lethal” Paulo Coelho

img_0976

My first week back in a ‘9 to 5’ is now concluded, and for the first time in more than 5 months, I am again “enjoying” a weekend.

Despite the stimulating sensation I get from the new job and the challenges of my position, the predominant feeling, this Saturday morning, is one of frustration.

I woke up with the feeling that I have not done much of the things I wanted to during the week. Apart from surfing, I wasn’t able to attend my garden, sit down to write nor read for more than 30 minutes straight.

I know this is only my first week and I will eventually find a balance, but at the moment, I am still to realise that I don’t have a roster with a day off anymore, but rather a Monday-Friday with a free weekend.

For the last 3 months I have been working 6 days out of 7 and been enjoying the immense bliss of spending most of my waking hours with my family, whilst still being able to carve up significant amounts of ‘me time’ early in the morning. Not forgetting the strengthening and reinvigorating features of an after lunch nap.

Up until now I was able to wake up early enough to garden, surf, run, have a ‘coffeed’ writing session, or whatever I felt like doing on my own, before joining the family for breakfast and the morning’s joint activities.

This week however, I tried to do the same before heading to work, but after two days of 5am surf sessions (first big swell of the season) the fatigue took over and my disposition towards my girls was not the same at the end of the day. So, for the rest of the week I slept in without having any ‘me time’ before work. I believe this to be the main cause for my “end of week frustration”.

I love a good sleep, but sometimes I wish that the human body didn’t need it.

 

I am working only 5 more weekly hours, making my work days longer together with the fact that all these hours are now amalgamated in 5 days instead of 6.  This is something I will have to get used to. I know I will adapt, I always have, but I am still comparing and clinging to a recent reality that I took great comfort and pleasure in. But the fact is, that reality no longer is.

I know the way forward. I’ve travelled it before. It’s not easy as it requires discipline and resolve, but it’s simple:

–          Acceptance. Things are what they are and not what I wish them to be. Also, I believe change to be not only inevitable but an awesome opportunity for newness. My new working schedule (one that I pursued and which is very good when compared against ones I had before), just implies a new routine;

–          Reschedule. Find a way to incorporate my established and beneficial habits around this new working timetable. I did it before. It’s a matter of remembering how – allocate different ‘me time’ activities to different week mornings (including sleep-ins); interchange ‘me time’ with Catarina when getting home in the afternoon; get up even earlier on weekends, when the option of a siesta is available.

 

It’s good to stop and think on perceived problems. The stopping part helps immensely and taking the time to write these words did the rest. I already feel “cured”.

Anyway, today’s only Saturday and tomorrow is another non-working day, so there’s still lots of time to make the girls laugh and do all the other things I want to before Monday morning gets here – maybe I’ll go for a surf then.

schedule

Leave a Reply

