Find Your Inner Minimalist

Brisbane, February 2016

 

Minimalism is a lifestyle, an approach to life, an interest, an idea, a dream. It can be anything, because it’s different for everyone.

That’s why, when you talk to people about minimalism, they will say that in some degree they are already minimalists or that they are already trying to include a minimalist approach in their life.

Here are some of my friends’ comments when they were introduced to the concept:

 “The last years in Australia, “forced” me to become a minimalist, to only consume what I really need and to look to my stuff and understand what I really need to take from Portugal to Australia. It’s great.” (C.)

“I love minimalism, especially in skirts and bikinis,” (B.)

“I’m getting into the spirit.” (S.)

“More and more the money that we save is not to buy stuff is to travel and to have experiences with family and friends” (A.)

“I think I’m minimalist enough…I’m 75% minimalist.” (H.)

“About the minimalist lifestyle, I agree deeply, and one day, when I have more time, I will explore that approach” (S.)

Firstly I was very intrigued by that. I used to think: ”Come on, now everybody says that they already are minimalists.”

Now I think everyone has a minimalist inside them, that’s why. I never found anyone saying that doesn’t like the concept or that it doesn’t make sense. But I think in most of the cases, that minimalist inside you is just quiet, waiting for you to take action.

I also think that most people think that minimalism is just about stuff. About material possessions, about getting rid of that excess. It’s NOT. That is an essential step of the process, because less stuff will create more. More mental space, more time, more interests, more experiences, more growth.

Minimalism is about living a more meaningful life, is about having the time to get to know you better, it’s about being healthier, exercising more, eating better, it’s about spending time with family and friends, it’s about having meaningful conversations, it’s about having a mission instead of a job, it’s about contributing, it’s about you and adding value to your life and the life of others.

 

 

 

One thought on “Find Your Inner Minimalist

Leave a Reply

