Stumbling Into It

Brisbane, February 2016
I’ve always been interested in ways that can make my life easier. Since my youngest daughter was born in 2015, my time, my precious time, is even more precious now and I hate wasting it with house chores, cleaning, tidying up, etc. But the reality is, that I just feel good and relaxed if that part of my life is organised and under control. This means that I cannot completely relax if I know that my dishes need washing or if I have a pile of laundry to take care of, or if I have 20 tasks on my to do list, etc.

So last year I’ve started reading blogs and books about how to organise your home, guides about making life easier, in the hope I find more time to do what I believe is the most important thing in life: taking care of my girls.

In December 2015, I bought this book on iTunes called: The Life-changing Magic of Tidying by Marie Kondo. I think it’s a great book. I’ve applied some of the Marie Kondo techniques, allowing me to organise my life. Tough it’s not a book about minimalism, Kondos’s main message has something in common with the first stage of the minimalism journey – Decluttering.

Even though Marie Kondo’s book helped me a lot, I was still not happy with the quantity of stuff that I had to organise every day.

So one day, I was so frustrated by the quantity of toys that my kids don’t even look at and I was so overwhelmed by every piece of stuff around me that I decided to Google: “not buying anything for a year”.

I thought this could be the way. If I didn’t get more stuff the things at least wouldn’t get worst. Surprisingly enough, I found this bunch of people that had already though about that. I felt happy. I was not the only one feeling overwhelmed by the stuff around me.

I then, found a movement called COMPACT, born in San Francisco, whose members committed not to buy anything new for a year. I immediately though this could be one of my New Year resolutions.

I kept searching the web, I was still not completely happy with my findings, but I was convinced that the best way to start my journey was to stop consuming.

It was when I bumped into the concept of Minimalism. I found Joshua Becker’s website. http://www.becomingminimalist.com. And there I found this audio where Joshua presents his journey into minimalism to a group of mums.

I suddenly realised: “This is me. I want this in my life. This is the lifestyle that I was looking for.”

It took me two months of research to find out that the best way to organise my home and daily life is actually not having the stuff. Two months for this realisation!! If you don’t have stuff you don’t need to organise it. Pretty clever yeah? How could I not see this simple truth?

Since then, a lot of decluttering has been going on, and a lot of thought has been put into findings ways to live a more meaningful and intentional life. The results are starting to appear.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

