XLIX – Pseudo-Immigrants

Going through my “In Progress” folder I found this little gem below.

Its contents run the risk of being repetitive but they’re here for your perusal with the full knowledge that, in order for the message to sink in, some lessons need to be revisited every so often.

This post is also a (not-so-subtle) message to you P. Nothing but love, puto.

Brisbane, February 2016

During our first years in Australia, Cat and I received dozens of emails from people we were acquainted with, acquainted with friends of ours, or friends of friends. Even from people we never knew where the connection was.

The subject of the email was pretty common though – Information on the easiest way to come to Australia, because personal/professional circumstances weren’t good and the superficial research conducted showed that Australia was one of the best countries to live in.

It is. It has top standards for quality of living and is highly ranked as such. I can confirm it against the countries I’ve lived in. Maybe this is so, in part, because it is one of the most difficult places to get a visa that allows one to work. My visa process was time-consuming and required massive commitment.

Anyway, Cat and I responded to each and every email sent our way, explaining the visa options known to us, warning of how difficult the process could be, but that the effort was definitely worthwhile.

From all the responses sent, not a single person made its way across (at least that I know of). The ones that responded, thanked our advice but did not like the idea of the hard-work involved. The wording around the replies, read like a confirmation, a self-assurance that in fact they weren’t in such a bad situation that justified the change.

We concluded that the people sending those emails did not want to move halfway across the world if that meant to take serious action. They were just looking to be convinced that the payoff was not worth the resolve it demanded.

 

I understand that living a simpler lifestyle is appealing to many people, and that the prospective results in one’s life are extremely attractive. I mean, how can one argue against having the health and time to do the stuff one loves and live more meaningfully? How can one argue against having the resources to be happier?

Since I started embracing a simpler lifestyle and reporting on my actions and progress, that I have been getting Deja-vu. A feeling comparable to the one I got, when reading the replies from ‘pseudo-immigrants’.

By openly divulging my life choices, I often get the feeling that some people need to justify that their chosen lifestyle isn’t simpler, only because it is already as simple as it can get. Or it can’t get any simpler because of external factors.

I don’t buy it. Mostly I see unacknowledged dissatisfaction, but existing at a level that does not prompt change.

I mostly hear excuses. This is a choice that starts and ends with oneself and not anyone else (though it’s indeed a lot easier if the people one chooses to share one’s life with also get involved).

I mostly hear lists – reasons why it can’t be done instead of how it can be achieved; explanations of current commitments and responsibilities. To me, most sound easily manageable (but hey, managing the life of others is just too easy, isn’t it?).

Above all, I see opportunity. Opportunity for more meaningful and fulfilled lives

There is a catch though. It takes a lot of work and effort on one’s part. It means discipline and sacrifice. It means to constantly get outside one’s comfort zone. It means to compromise one’s current sense of security and take action. It means to TAKE ACTION. It’s not easy, but anything worthwhile isn’t.

The best advice I can give is to replace excuses with curiosity!!  Don’t take my word for it, give it a try. IT IS definitely worthwhile.

hard-work-good-luck-motivational-daily-quotes-sayings-pictures-810x880

Leave a Reply

